Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Find your balance between these types of yoga

There is a practice of body and mind for all.

Since yoga was introduced in the West in the mid-twentieth century, its popularity and influence have skyrocketed. With stress and anxiety levels at an all-time high, more and more westerners are discovering the scientifically proven benefits of a practice that involves mind and body. The number of types of yoga available has also increased, with options for almost everyone.

If you are thinking about starting to practice it, we have prepared a list of the main types of yoga.


In Sanskrit, Nyasa means "place" and vi means "in a special way." Vinyasa, therefore, is the practice of placing the body in a specific way. Popularized by Trimulai Krishnamacharya, this general term refers to almost all power yoga based on "flow." An important characteristic of Vinyasa is that the transitions between each pose or asana are almost as important as the same; Each sequence is carefully orchestrated to link prana (breathing) with movement.


A form of Vinyasa developed by K. Pattabhi Jois - a student of Krishnamacharya - Ashtanga means "eight limbs", referring to the eight branches of yoga as described in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, where the physical practice is only one. In Ashtanga Yoga, postures are always taught in specific sequences that rarely change from teacher to teacher. The emphasis is placed on linking the breath to the body through repetition, with less focus on alignment.


Named in honor of BKS Iyengar, another student of Krishnamacharya who was considered one of the world's leading teachers, this yoga school differs from Ashtanga in that it focuses on the precise alignment of each posture. If Vinyasa is more fluid, Iyengar is strict, use accessories (blocks and straps) to find the right position. Teachers of this method largely believe that there is a "correct" way of doing yoga, so if you are interested in trying the Iyengar, be prepared for numerous corrections.


Popularized in the United States by Yogi Bhajan, the Kundalini obtains its primary influences from Tantra and Shaktism from Hinduism. The principle of practice is that it seeks to awaken Kundalini Shakti (our primordial energy) that exists coiled like a snake at the base of our spine (where the first chakra or energy center resides ). Through various techniques that include asanas, pranayama (breathwork) and meditation, this energy is driven by the spine until it reaches the seventh chakra, at which time we wake up spiritually.


Adding influences from Taoism, Yin Yoga was developed by martial arts expert Paulie Zink. This practice involves deep maintenance of asanas for long periods (between two and twenty minutes) to stretch the connective tissue of the body and increase flexibility and circulation instead of simply working the muscles. Meditation and the search for internal and external stillness is an important part of Yin Yoga, so it is a more restorative practice.

No comments:

Post a Comment